Art & Design

ENSA Dijon

Studies organisation

Curriculum

Art schools are engaged in the process of European harmonisation of higher education leading to the organisation of studies in 3 cycles (Bachelor, Master, Doctorate), to the progressivity and the homogeneity of curriculum within the framework of the European system of cumulated and transferable credits (European Credits Transfer System/ECTS). These credits correspond to an acquired level of knowledge, to a number of tuition hours and to workload including attendance to courses, personal work, participation in lectures, internships, the semester abroad and taking DNAP and DNSEP degrees in year 3 and 5.

The higher national degree in plastic expression (DNSEP) in Art and the DNSEP Design degree at ENSA Dijon award the grade of Master 2. The studies are organised in semesters, each corresponding to 30 credits. The national diploma in plastic arts (DNAP), a short programme of the art curriculum, awards 180 credits (Bac +3) and the DNSEP, a long programme of the same curriculum, awards 300 credits (Bac +5).

Cycle 1

The 1st year common to all students is based on a wide range of practical and theoretical initiations and experiences. It allows you to build up a vast visual culture and leads the student to develop methods of research and to acquire the first tools of an analytical approach. The time is divided around the induction course (drawing, painting, volume, computer graphics, photography, and video) and general culture (history of the arts, foreign languages) which combine without priority ranking with lectures, workshops, travels and visits to exhibitions.

In year 2, the content of the lessons and optional subjects allow the student to return to the chosen major Art or Space Design, a phase finalized in year 3 by the DNAP in Art or Space Design (Bac +3).

A study contract formalizes the study course of the student as early as semester 5. The curriculum is organised in the form of both compulsory and optional modules whose choice is left to the student. The study contract is proposed to foreign students on an international exchange. They formalise their study course by choosing workshops and courses taught at the School.

Cycle 2

Years 4 and 5 lead the student to develop his/her own artistic project and to elaborate a research resulting in the presentation of a plastic work and a dissertation to defend in order to get the DNSEP.

The 4th year is the year of the professional or pedagogical experiences ‘outside the walls’ (internship or study stay abroad) and the beginning of the drafting of the second cycle memoir. This memoir must propose a problematised and original thought process, registering the project of the student in a theoretical, literary or poetic field. The progress of the work is based on a structuring methodological input. It is articulated around regular appointments with the college of teachers. Particular attention is paid to the plastic relevance of the dissertation. At the end of Semester 8, students choose a referent professor among the teachers of the School, theorists or plasticians. The dissertation takes place during semester 10.

The cycle of studies is completed when all the credits provided by the curriculum are acquired. The student’s entry to the following semester is subject to obtaining at least 24 credits / semester. The acquisition of missing credits is made according to the terms specified in the studies organisation.

The system of assessment

Assessments are performed through continuous evaluations, assignments handed in, attendance to lectures, training courses, projects ‘outside the walls’ and bi-annual assessments before a college of teachers and outside speakers in the graduating years. The allocation of credits, the decisions on going up to the next year or to repeat the year are conducted in a collegial way and are subject to validation from the direction.

Cycle 1 assessments

Semesters 1 and 2: 60 credits

At the end of Semester 1, a collegial evaluation allows to measure the course of the student and to communicate to him the number of credits acquired. The passage from semester 1 to semester 2 is subject to obtaining 24 credits out of the 30 required under condition of catching up with the missing credits in the course of the second semester. At the end of Semester 2, obtaining 60 credits is compulsory for the passage to semester 3. The students who failed in year 1 are not allowed to re-enrol (except for medical reasons and on decision of the direction).

Semesters 3 and 4: 60 credits

Semester 3 is sanctioned by the award of 30 credits. The passage to semester 4 is subject to a minimum of 24 credits under condition of catching up with the missing credits. In semester 4, the student must have obtained 120 credits whose allocation leads to the CEAP (Certificate of Plastic Arts Studies)

Semester 5 and 6: 60 credits

Semester 5 is sanctioned by the award of 30 credits. The passage to semester 6 is possible with a minimum of 24 credits under condition of catching up with the missing credits. The National Diploma in Plastic Arts sanctions the end of the first cycle and the achievement of 180 credits overall. The admission in the second cycle is validated by a commission of teachers of the School on account of the examination of the plastic project and research axes undertaken by the student for the drafting of the DNSEP memoirs.

Cycle 2 assessments

Semesters 7 and 8: 60 credits

These semesters of study are devoted to the development of the personal plastic project, to the preparation of the end-of-study dissertation, to the professional internship or to international mobility. Semester 7 is sanctioned by the award of 30 credits. After 4 years of studies, the acquisition by the student of 240 credits leads at the end of semester 8 to obtaining the CESAP (Certificate of Higher Studies in Plastic Arts).

Semesters 9 and 10: 60 credits

During semesters 9 and 10, the students develop their personal plastic project and finalize the drafting of their dissertation.
The passage of the DNSEP is constituted by two tests:

  • The dissertation for a duration of twenty minutes (5 credits)
  • The presentation of a plastic work for a duration of forty minutes (25 credits).

The presentation is defended during semester 10. The tests of DNSEP take place in June.

Art & Design

ENSA Dijon

Organisation des études

Cursus

Les écoles d’art sont engagées dans le processus d’harmonisation européenne de l’enseignement supérieur conduisant à l’organisation des études en 3 cycles (Licence, Master, Doctorat), à la progressivité et à l’homogénéité des cursus dans le cadre du système européen de crédits cumulables et transférables (European Credits Transfer System / ECTS). Ces crédits correspondent à un niveau de connaissances acquis, un nombre d’heures d’enseignement et une charge de travail incluant la présence aux cours, le travail personnel, la participation aux conférences, les stages, le semestre à l’étranger et la présentation des diplômes DNAP et DNSEP en année 3 et 5.

Le Diplôme National Supérieur d’Expression Plastique (DNSEP) en Art et le DNSEP Design de l’ENSA Dijon confèrent le grade de Master 2. Les études sont organisées en semestre, chacun correspondant à 30 crédits. Le Diplôme National d’Arts Plastiques (DNAP), cycle court du cursus art, correspond à 180 crédits (Bac +3) et le DNSEP, cycle long du même cursus, à 300 crédits (Bac +5).

Cycle 1

La 1re année commune à tous les étudiants est basée sur un faisceau d’initiations et d’expériences pratiques et théoriques. Elle permet de se constituer une vaste culture visuelle et conduit l’étudiant à développer des méthodes de recherche et à acquérir les premiers outils d’une approche analytique. Le temps se répartit autour des cours d’initiation (dessin, peinture, volume, infographie, photographie, vidéo) et de culture générale (histoire des arts, langues étrangères) auxquels s’allient sans hiérarchie les conférences, les workshops, les voyages, et les visites d’expositions.

En année 2, le contenu des enseignements et les options permettent à l’étudiant de rentrer dans la section choisie Art ou Design d’Espaces, phase finalisée au semestre 6 par le DNAP Art ou Design d’Espaces (Bac +3).

En année 3, un contrat d’étude formalise le parcours de l’étudiant dès le semestre 5. Le cursus s’organise sous la forme de modules obligatoires et optionnels dont le choix est laissé à l’étudiant. Le contrat d’étude est proposé aux étudiants étrangers en échange international. Ils formalisent leur parcours en choisissant des ateliers et des cours dispensés à l’école.

Un stage en France ou à l’étranger auprès d’institutions culturelles, d’artistes, d’agences d’architectes, de designers ou d’urbanistes est obligatoire en 1er cycle.

Cycle 2

Les années 4 et 5 amènent l’étudiant à développer un projet artistique propre et élaborer une recherche se traduisant par la présentation d’un travail plastique et la soutenance d’un mémoire pour l’obtention du DNSEP.
La 4e année est celle des expériences professionnelles ou pédagogiques « hors les murs » (stage ou séjour d’étude à l’étranger) et du début de la rédaction du mémoire de second cycle. Ce mémoire doit proposer une pensée problématisée et originale, inscrivant le projet de l’étudiant dans un champ théorique, littéraire ou poétique. La progression du travail repose sur un apport méthodologique structurant. Elle est articulée autour de rendez-vous réguliers avec le collège d’enseignants. Une attention particulière est donnée à la pertinence plastique du mémoire. En fin de semestre 8, les étudiants choisissent un professeur référent parmi les enseignants de l’école, théoriciens ou plasticiens. La soutenance a lieu durant le semestre 10.

Le cycle des études est terminé lorsque tous les crédits prévus par le cursus sont acquis. Le passage de l’étudiant au semestre suivant est subordonné à l’obtention d’au moins 24 crédits / semestre. L’acquisition des crédits manquants se fait selon des modalités précisées dans le système d’évaluation.

 

Coordonnateurs d’années   

 

Évaluations

Les évaluations se font à travers le contrôle continu, les travaux rendus, l’assiduité aux conférences, les stages, projets « hors les murs » et bilans semestriels devant un collège d’enseignants et d’intervenants extérieurs en années diplômantes.
L’attribution des crédits, les décisions de passage en année supérieure ou de redoublement se déroulent de façon collégiale et sont soumises à la validation de la direction.

Évaluations cycle 1

Semestres 1 et 2 : 60 crédits

À l’issue du semestre 1, un contrôle collégial permet de mesurer le parcours de l’étudiant et de lui communiquer le nombre de crédits acquis. Le passage entre le semestre 1 et 2 est subordonné à l’obtention de 24 crédits sur les 30 requis sous condition de rattrapage des crédits manquants au cours du second semestre. A l’issue du semestre 2, l’obtention des 60 crédits est obligatoire pour le passage en semestre 3. Les étudiants ayant échoué en année 1 ne sont pas autorisés à se réinscrire (sauf pour raisons médicales et sur décision de la direction).

Semestres 3 et 4 : 60 crédits

Le semestre 3 est sanctionné par l’attribution de 30 crédits. Le passage au semestre 4 est subordonné à un minimum de 24 crédits sous condition de rattrapage des crédits manquants. Au semestre 4, l’étudiant doit impérativement avoir obtenu 120 crédits dont l’attribution débouche sur le CEAP (Certificat d’Études d’Arts Plastiques)

Semestres 5 et 6 : 60 crédits

Le semestre 5 est sanctionné par l’attribution de 30 crédits. Le passage au semestre 6 est possible avec un minimum de 24 crédits sous condition de rattrapage des crédits manquants. Le Diplôme National d’Arts Plastiques sanctionne la fin du premier cycle et l’obtention globale de 180 crédits. L’admission en second cycle est validée par une commission d’enseignants de l’école suite à l’examen du projet plastique et des axes de recherche engagés par l’étudiant pour la rédaction du mémoire de DNSEP.

Évaluations cycle 2

Semestres 7 et 8 : 60 crédits

Ces semestres d’études sont consacrés au développement du projet personnel plastique, à la préparation du mémoire de fin d’étude, au stage professionnel ou à la mobilité internationale. Le semestre 7 est sanctionné par l’attribution de 30 crédits. Après 4 années d’études, l’acquisition par l’étudiant de 240 crédits débouche à la fin du semestre 8 sur l’obtention du CESAP (Certificat d’Études Supérieures d’Arts Plastiques).

Semestres 9 et 10 : 60 crédits

Durant les semestres 9 et 10, les étudiants développent leur projet plastique personnel et finalisent la rédaction de leur mémoire.
Le passage du DNSEP est constitué de deux épreuves :

  • la soutenance d’un mémoire d’une durée de vingt minutes (5 crédits)
  • la soutenance d’un travail plastique d’une durée de quarante minutes (25 crédits).

Le mémoire est soutenu durant le semestre 10. Les épreuves de DNSEP se déroulent en juin.